Professional Certified Investigator

The Professional Certified Investigator (PCI)® credential provides demonstrable proof of an individual's knowledge and experience in case management, evidence collection, and preparation of reports and testimony to substantiate findings. Those who earn the PCI are ASIS board-certified in investigations.

Eligibility Requirement

High school diploma or GED equivalent and five years of investigations experience with at least two years in case management*


Is the PCI right for you?

Listen to this free 60-minutes webinar led by a panel of board-certified PCIs. Gain a better understanding of the “nuts and bolts” such as eligibility requirements, application process, exam preparation requirements and options, testing, and recertification.

About the Exam

The PCI examination consists of 125 multiple-choice questions and may also contain 15 "pre-test" questions (unscored) randomly distributed throughout the examination for a total of 140 questions. The time allowed takes into consideration the review of pre-test items.

The exam covers tasks, knowledge, and skills in three primary domains that have been identified by professional investigators as required areas of competency in this field. 


The PCI certification is applicable to a wide range of specialized investigations including:
  • ​arson
  • ​child abuse
  • ​economic crime
  • ​forensics
  • ​gaming
  • ​health care fraud
  • ​high-tech crime
  • ​insurance fraud
  • ​loss prevention
  • ​narcotics
  • ​property & casualty
  • ​threat assessment
  • ​workplace violence


The ACE CREDIT logo is a registered trademark of the American Council on Education and cannot be used or reproduced without the express written consent of the American Council on Education.